Awards Rewards India


01. Rabindranath Tagore (1913):

Nobel Prize for Literature Popularly known as Gurudev, India’s most famous writer and poet was awarded the Nobel Prize in recognition of his work Geetanjali, a collection of poems, in 1913. Tagore is also the author of India’s National Anthem.

02. C.V. Raman (1930):

C.V. Raman won the Nobel Prize for an important research in the field of optics (light). Raman had found that diffused light contained rays of other wavelengthswhat is now popularly known as Raman Effect. His theory explains why the frequency of light passing through a transparent medium changes.

03. Hargobind Khorana (1968):

The Nobel Prize for Medicine Dr. Khorana was born in Raipur, Punjab. It was his study of the human genetic code and the role it plays in protein synthesis that got him the Nobel Prize.

04. Mother Teresa (1979):

The Nobel Peace Prize She was extremely touched by the misery of the poor and the sick. She decided to dedicate her life in serving them. She set up “Nirmal Hriday” a center where she took care of the dying, the lepers and other people who had been left alone on the streets of Calcutta to die. Today her group has centers all over the world.

05. Subramanian Chandrashekar (1983):

The Nobel Prize for Physics Dr S. Chandrashekar, is an Indian-born astrophysicist He developed a theory on white dwarf stars forecasting the limit of mass that dwarf stars can have. This limit is known as the Chandrashekar Limit. His theory also explains the final stages of the evolution of stars.

06. Amartya Sen (1998):

Nobel Prize for Economics Prof. Amartya Sen is the first Asian to win the Economics Nobel. He won the Nobel for his work in the area of economic theory. Some of his most important work is in the areas of poverty, democracy, development and social welfare.

07. Venkatraman Ramakrishnan(2009):

Nobel Prize for chemistry Born in 1952 in Chidambaram in India’s Tamil Nadu state, Venkatraman was awarded the Nobel Prize in 2009 along with two other scientists “for studies of the structure and function of the ribosome”,

08. Kailash Satyarthi(2014):

Nobel Prize for Peace Awarded jointly to Kailash Satyarthi and Malala Yousafzai – “for their struggle against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education.”

Latest Govt Job & Exam Updates:

View Full List ...