Dr. Mallikarjun Member of Parliament (MP) from Mahbubnagar (ST)(Andhra Pradesh) Biodata

Name of Member: Dr. Mallikarjun

Political Party: Indian National Congress

Constituency & State: Mahbubnagar (ST)(Andhra Pradesh)

Lok Sabha Experience: 5,6,7,9,10,11

Biographical Sketch
Member of Parliament

Father's Name	:   Shri Subudhikishan

Date of Birth	:   14 May 1941

Place of Birth	:   Nalagandla (Andhra Pradesh)

Marital Status	:   Married on 18 July 1979

Spouse's Name	:   Smt. Laxmi

Children	:   Two sons and one daughter

Educational Qualifications :

M.B.B.S. Educated at Institute of Medical Sciences, Osmania and Medical College, Hyderabad (Andhra Pradesh)

Profession :

Permanent Address :
   8-2-589/7, Banjara Hills, Road No. 8,
Hyderabad-500001 (Andhra Pradesh)

Positions Held :
1971Elected to Lok Sabha (Fifth)
1977Re-elected to Lok Sabha (Sixth)
1978-80 and since 1989General Secretary, P.C.C.(I), Andhra Pradesh
1980Elected to Lok Sabha (Seventh) for the third time Member, Committee on Petitions
June 1980 - Feb. 1983Union Deputy Minister, Railways
Nov. 1981 - Feb. 1983Union Deputy Minister, Education and Social Welfare
Feb. 1983 - Feb. 1984Union Deputy Minister, Information and Broadcasting and 
Parliamentary Affairs
Feb. 1984 - Oct. 1984Union Deputy Minister, Works and Housing, Sports and 
	Department of Parliamentary Affairs
1989Elected to Lok Sabha (Ninth) for the fourth time
Jan. 1990-Aug. 1990Member, Committee of Privileges
May 1990-91Member, Public Accounts Committee
1990-91Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Defence
1991Elected to Lok Sabha (Tenth) for the fifth time
June 1991-Jan. 1993Union Minister of State, Railways
April 1992-May 1996Union Minister of State, Defence and 
Parliamentary Affairs
1996Elected to Lok Sabha (Eleventh) for the sixth time

Social and Cultural Activities :

Upliftment of the poor and the weak; Chairman, (i) Taluk Cooperative Marketing Society; and (ii) Andhra Pradesh State Financial Corporation, 1990-91; Director, District Cooperative Society

Favourite Pastime and Recreation :

Sports and Clubs :
   Cricket and golf

Countries visited :

Australia, Canada, U.K., U.S.A.; Member, Indian Parliamentary Delegation to Australia, 1984

Other Information :

Started movement for separate Telengana in January 1969; arrested several times including twice under Preventive Detention Act

Election Result :
Mahbubnagar Lok Sabha constituency
Total electorate	12,43,625
Total votes polled	 7,44,665
Votes polled in favour of the
first four leading candidates:
(1) Dr. Mallikarjun 		(I.N.C.)	2,59,875
(2) Shri D.K. Aruna 		(T.D.P.)	2,54,377
(3) Shri R. Ravindranath Reddy (B.J.P.)		1,25,952
(4) Shri A.P. Jitender Reddy [N.T.R.T.D.P. (LP)]  53,594


These Biodata of present and past Members of Parliament are taken from https://loksabha.nic.in/. Also any reference to the location of a particular State, or Country in the bio-profile of Members (particularly in the columns ‘place of birth’ or ‘Educated at’) is given by the Members themselves while filling up of the Proforma after their election to the Lok Sabha. Any discrepancy in data should be brought to our notice for correction. Our Email: [email protected]

Important Links:

Go to Mahbubnagar MP Constituency Page

Go to Andhra Pradesh MP Election Page

Go to Indian Election and Politics Master Page

Go to Yearbook Page

Latest Govt Job & Exam Updates:

View Full List ...