Shri Balwant Sinha Mehta Member of Parliament (MP) from Udaipur (Rajasthan) Biodata

Name of Member: Shri Balwant Sinha Mehta

Political Party: Congress

Constituency & State: Udaipur (Rajasthan)

Lok Sabha Experience: 1

First Lok Sabha
Members Bioprofile

MEHTA, SHRI BALWANT SINHA, Cong. (Rajasthan— Udaipur—1952): S. of Shri Mehta Sahib Zalim Sinhaji; B. Udaipur, February 8, 1900; ed. at Middle School, Bhilwara, Maharana High School, Udaipur and Fergusson College, Poona; m. Shrimati Sugan Kumari; 4 S.; Political and Social worker; One of the founders of Shri Pratap Sabha and Haldighati Fair; Founder and President, Prajamandal, Mewar (now Congress); Founder and Vice-President, Bhartya Lok Kala Mandal, Udaipur; President, Multi-purpose Cooperative Society, Udaipur, Relief Society, Mewar and Gurkul, Chittorgarh; First President, Rajasthan Mineral Advisory Committee; Vice-Chairman, All India States People’s Conference, Udaipur Session; Chairman, Public Library, Kastoor Ba Matri Mandir (Maternity Home) and Partap Nagar Refugees Co-operative Society, Udaipur; Secretary, Bihar Earthquake Relief Fund for Mewar, Congress Planning Committee, Mewar; Advisor to A.I.C.C. for Vindhya Pradesh Congress; Minister to the Mewar Government, 1948; Ex-Minister for Commerce and Industries, Rajasthan; Member, Constituent Assembly of India, 1948—50, Parliamentary Delimitation Committee for constituencies of Rajasthan, 1951; Delimitation Commission of India, 1953; P.C.C., Rajasthan, 1951; Intermediate Girls’ College, Udaipur, General Council of All India Adimjati Sewak Sangh, All India Parliamentary Bhoodan Samiti, All India Marwari Sammelan, All India S. Jain Conference, All India Oswal Mahasammelan, Rajasthan, Go Seva Sangh, Swadhin Chhatrawas, Jaipur, Gram Vidhyalaya, Bhilwara, Legislative Assembly, Mewar, Railway and Commerce and Industries Committees in Congress Party in Parliament, and Member of the General Body of the Congress Party in the Parliament; Served on various Standing Advisory Committees for Ministries of Education, Works, Mines and Power and Supply, Natural Resources and Scientific Research and Select Committees of the Parliament; Convener, Abu Merger Committee and Rajasthan Congress Party in Parliament; Inaugurated the All India Manufacturers Conference at Jaipur, 1951; Organiser, Rajasthan Bhoodan Yagna Samiti, Bhil Upliftment and Welfare Works in Rajasthan for the first time under the guidance of Shri Thakur Bapa; Imprisoned twice in 1939 and 1942; First editor of Railway Time Table in Hindi (‘Yatri Mitra’ from Calcutta) and served on the editorial board of ‘LOK KALA’—a cultural magazine; Started various Schools and Hostels in the Bhil area; Staunch believer of Gandhian way of life; Widely travelled in India.

Hobbies: Visiting ancient and historical places.

Recreation: Hiking and travelling.

Special interest: Uplift of Harijans and backward classes.

Publications: “Life of Mirabai and her songs”, “Maharana Partap”, “Fort of Chitoorgarh”, “Mewar Digdarshan” and ;’Rajpootana”.

Permanent address: Sahatya Kuteer, Sonasehri, Udaipur.


These Biodata of present and past Members of Parliament are taken from Also any reference to the location of a particular State, or Country in the bio-profile of Members (particularly in the columns ‘place of birth’ or ‘Educated at’) is given by the Members themselves while filling up of the Proforma after their election to the Lok Sabha. Any discrepancy in data should be brought to our notice for correction. Our Email: [email protected]

Important Links:

Go to Udaipur MP Constituency Page

Go to Rajasthan MP Election Page

Go to Indian Election and Politics Master Page

Go to Yearbook Page

Latest Govt Job & Exam Updates:

View Full List ...