Shri Haradhan Roy Member of Parliament (MP) from Asansol (West Bengal) Biodata

Name of Member: Shri Haradhan Roy

Political Party: Communist Party of India (Marxist)

Constituency & State: Asansol (West Bengal)

Lok Sabha Experience: 9,10,11

Biographical Sketch
Member of Parliament
XI Lok Sabha


Father's Name	:	Late Shri Rakhal Chandra Roy

Date of Birth	:	16 March 1926

Place of Birth	:	Napur in Distt. Burdwan (West Bengal)

Marital Status	:	Unmarried

Educational Qualifications :
	Educated at Raniganj High School, Raniganj 
	(West Bengal)

Profession :
	Political Worker, Trade Unionist and Social Worker

Permanent Address :
	Central Office, Colliery Mazdoor Sabha of India, 
	Netaji Subhas Bose Road, Raniganj, Distt. Burdwan (West Bengal) 
	Tels. (0341) 44-4385, 44-6959
	Fax. (0341) 44-5477

Positions Held :
1945-46		Primary Member, I.N.C.
1946-48		Primary Member, Forward Bloc
1948-53		Activist, C.P.I.
1954		Member, C.P.I.
1962		Member, C.P.I. Committee, Distt. Burdwan,
		West Bengal
1964		Member, C.P.I.(M) Committee, Distt. Burdwan,
		West Bengal
1964 onwards	Member, All India and State Working Committees, C.I.T.U.
1967-87(Six terms) Member, West Bengal Legislative Assembly
1982-84		Member, Committee on Public Undertakings, West Bengal 
		Legislative Assembly
1989		Elected to Lok Sabha (Ninth)
1991		Re-elected to Lok Sabha (Tenth) 
1996		Elected to Lok Sabha (Eleventh) for the third time

Social and Cultural Activities :
	Educating masses, rural and urban development; setting up schools, 
	colleges,   libraries,  hospitals,  health   clinics;  organising 
	gymnasium, sports and cultural activities

Special Interests :
	Serving the masses

Favourite Pastime and Recreation :
	Socialising, study and sports

Countries Visited :
	Former U.S.S.R.

Other Information :
	Organised  trade unions, peasant movements, democratic movements; 
	suffered imprisonment  for  about  30 times  since 1952; remained 
	underground  from  1962-1964, & 1964-1966;  Assistant  Secretary, 
	Refractory  and  ceramic  Workers  Union  (INTUC), 1948;  General 
	Secretary,Organiser, Founder Member, Colliery Mazdoor Sabha since 
	1952  (Raniganj Coal belt);  Member  (i)  All  India  Engineering 
	Workers   Federation  1956-57;  (ii)  A.I.T.U.C.,  1957-58; (iii) 
	Central  Committee,  A.I.T.U.C., 1957-64; (iv) Working Committee, 
	Bengal Provincial Trade Union Congress (BPTUC) A.T.U.C., 1957-64; 
	General-Secretary,  Organiser  and Founder Member,  Jyoti Prakash 
	Glass  Mazdoor  Union;  Organiser, long  march  from  Raniganj to 
	Calcutta with 200 workers of Burn  company  and other trade Union 
	Units in demand of lifting lock-out and  settlement of demands of 
	workers of Burn Company Ltd.; General Secretary, Colliery Mazdoor 
	Sabha of India  (C.I.T.U.) till date;  Vice-President,  All India 
	Coal Workers Federation;  President (i)  Raniganj Girls' College; 
	and  (ii)  Khandera  College,  Khandera,  Vice-Chairman,  Asansol 
	Mines  Board  of  Health,  1978-83;  General Secretary, Aluminium 
	Mazdoor Union Since 1967;  Member, General Council, Indian School 
	of Mines. Dhanbad upto 31 August 1990

Election Result :
Asansol Lok Sabha constituency
Total electorate	12,07,881
Total votes polled	 8,41,736
Votes polled in favour of the
first four leading candidates:
(1) Shri Haradhan Roy 		[C.P.I.(M)]	3,76,806
(2) Shri Sukumar Bandyopadhyay	(I.N.C.)	3,29,856
(3) Shri Surendranath Lamba 	(B.J.P.)	  69,737
(4) Shri Gonesh Pal 		(Ind.)  	  11,556


These Biodata of present and past Members of Parliament are taken from Also any reference to the location of a particular State, or Country in the bio-profile of Members (particularly in the columns ‘place of birth’ or ‘Educated at’) is given by the Members themselves while filling up of the Proforma after their election to the Lok Sabha. Any discrepancy in data should be brought to our notice for correction. Our Email: [email protected]

Important Links:

Go to Asansol MP Constituency Page

Go to West Bengal MP Election Page

Go to Indian Election and Politics Master Page

Go to Yearbook Page

Latest Govt Job & Exam Updates:

View Full List ...

© Copyright Entrance India - Engineering and Medical Entrance Exams in India | Website Maintained by Firewall Firm - IT Monteur