Shri Iswar Prasanna Hazarika Member of Parliament (MP) from Tezpur (Assam) Biodata

Name of Member: Shri Iswar Prasanna Hazarika

Political Party: Indian National Congress

Constituency & State: Tezpur (Assam)

Lok Sabha Experience: 11

Biographical Sketch
Member of Parliament


Father's Name: Shri Tirtheswar Hazarika 
Date of Birth:   22 January 1937
Place of Birth:   North Lakhimpur in Distt. Lakhimpur (Assam) 
Marital Status:   Married on 11 December 1962

Spouse's Name:   Smt. Chhaya Hazarika
Children:   Two sons and one daughter

Educational Qualifications :
M.A. (Incomplete), B.L.
Educated at Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi Delhi School of Economics, 
       Delhi and Lincoln's Inn, London (U.K.)

Profession :
   Civil Service, Management Consultant and Lawyer

Permanent Address :
   Ward No. 7,
North Lakhimpur Town-787001 (Assam)
Tel. (03752) 22572 

Positions Held :
     1996 Elected to Lok Sabha (Eleventh)

Special Interests :
To facilitate accelerated development of Assam and North East India as a solution to the insurgency problem; foreign trade and development of Indian exports; economic relations with former Communist countries and development of India's Power Sector
Favourite Pastime and Recreation :
Reading and travelling

Countries Visited :
Widely travelled; Member, Indian Delegation to (i) I.L.O. Conference, Geneva, 1982; (ii) World Diamond Congress, Antwerp, 1984; (iii) Association of State Trading Organisation, Belgrade, 1986; (iv) International Fertiliser Conference, Budapest, 1989 and New York 1990; and (v) Trade Delegations to DPRK, Brazil, Romania, Thailand, USSR, Zimbabwe, etc. 
Other Information :
Executive Vice-Chairman, Standing Conference on Public Enterprises (SCOPE) and Member, Executive Board of SCOPE, 1981-89; Director, Boards of NTPC, STC and MMTC of India, 1981-88; Member, Board of Governors, Indian Institute of Foreign Trade, New Delhi, 1987-94; President, Bharat Diamond House Bourse, Bombay, 1988-89; Chairman and Managing Director, M.M.T.C. of India, 1988-90; Member, State Planning Board, Assam, 1994-96; Chairman, Assam State Electricity Board, 1995-96 

Election Result :
Tezpur Lok Sabha constituency
Total electorate   8,53,710
Total votes polled 6,77,449
Votes polled in favour of the
first four leading candidates :
(1) Shri Iswar Prasanna Hazarika (I.N.C.)   2,07,071
(2) Shri Harsha Bahadur Biswakarma (A.G.P.) 2,00,352
(3) Shri Dhruba Prasad Baishya (B.J.P.)       82,893
(4) Shri Rana Deuri (Ind.)                    40,908

These Biodata of present and past Members of Parliament are taken from Also any reference to the location of a particular State, or Country in the bio-profile of Members (particularly in the columns ‘place of birth’ or ‘Educated at’) is given by the Members themselves while filling up of the Proforma after their election to the Lok Sabha. Any discrepancy in data should be brought to our notice for correction. Our Email: [email protected]


Important Links:

Go to Tezpur MP Constituency Page

Go to Assam MP Election Page

Go to Indian Election and Politics Master Page

Go to Yearbook Page

Latest Govt Job & Exam Updates:

View Full List ...