Shri Jaipal Sudini Reddy Member of Parliament (MP) from Chelvella (Andhra Pradesh) Biodata

Name of Member: Shri Jaipal Sudini Reddy

Political Party: Indian National Congress

Constituency & State: Chelvella (Andhra Pradesh)

Lok Sabha Experience: 8,12,13,14,15

Fifteenth Lok Sabha

Members Bioprofile
Reddy, Shri Jaipal Sudini
Constituency   : Chelvella (Andhra Pradesh)
Party Name     : Indian National Congress (INC)
Email Address : sjaipal[AT]sansad[DOT]nic[DOT]in
Father’s Name Late Shri Durga Reddy
Mother’s Name Smt. Yashodamma
Date of Birth 16 Jan 1942
Place of Birth Madgul, Distt. Mahbubnagar (Andhra Pradesh)
Marital Status Married
Date of Marriage 07 May 1960
Spouse’s Name Smt. Lakshmi
No. of Sons 2
No.of Daughters 1
M.A. (English), B.J.
Educated at Osmania University, Hyderabad,Andhra Pradesh
Profession Agriculturist
Permanent Address
H.No. 6-70, Village and Mandal Madgul,
Distt. Mahbubnagar – 509 001
Andhra Pradesh
Present Address
8, Tees January Marg,
New Delhi – 110 011
Tels. (011) 23316766, 23714230 (O)
Telefax. (011) 23016207, 23792634 (R)
Fax: (011) 23316745 (O)
Positions Held
1965-71 President, Andhra Pradesh Youth Congress
1969-72 General Secretary, Andhra Pradesh Congress Committee
1969-84 Member, Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly (four terms)
1979-88 Member, National Executive, Janata Party
1984 Elected to 8th Lok Sabha
1985-88 General Secretary, Janata Party
1990-96 and 1997-98 Member, Rajya Sabha
July 22, 1991 to June 28, 1992 Leader of Opposition, Rajya Sabha
1997-98 Union Cabinet Minister, Information and Broadcasting
1998 Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
1998-99 Member, Committee on Finance
Member, Committee on Provision of Computers to Members of Parliament, Off. of Parties and Off. of LSS
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Finance
1999 Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
1999-2000 Chairman, Committee of Privileges
Member, Committee on Finance
Member, Joint Committee on Patents (Second Amendment) Bill, 1999
2000-2004 Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Power
2004 Re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha( 4th term)
23 May 2004-17 Nov. 2005 Union Cabinet Minister, Information and Broadcasting and Culture
18 Nov. 2005 Union Cabinet Minister, Urban Development and Culture
29 January 2006 Union Cabinet Minister of Urban Development
Vice President, Parliamentary Forum on Water Conservation & Management
2009 Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha (5th term)
31 May 2009 – 18 Jan 2011 Union Cabinet Minister, Urban Development
19 Jan 2011 – 28 Oct. 2012 Union Cabinet Minister, Petroleum and Natural Gas
28 Oct. 2012 Union Cabinet Minister, Science and Technology and Earth Sciences


These Biodata of present and past Members of Parliament are taken from Also any reference to the location of a particular State, or Country in the bio-profile of Members (particularly in the columns ‘place of birth’ or ‘Educated at’) is given by the Members themselves while filling up of the Proforma after their election to the Lok Sabha. Any discrepancy in data should be brought to our notice for correction. Our Email: [email protected]

Important Links:

Go to Chelvella MP Constituency Page

Go to Andhra Pradesh MP Election Page

Go to Indian Election and Politics Master Page

Go to Yearbook Page

Latest Govt Job & Exam Updates:

View Full List ...