Shri Keshab Mahanta Member of Parliament (MP) from Kaliabor (Assam) Biodata

Name of Member: Shri Keshab Mahanta

Political Party: Asom Gana Parishad

Constituency & State: Kaliabor (Assam)

Lok Sabha Experience: 11

Biographical Sketch
Member of Parliament
XI Lok Sabha


Father's Name	:   Late Shri Kamal Ch. Mahanta

Date of Birth	:   6 July 1959

Place of Birth	:   Balisatra in Distt. Nagaon (Assam)

Marital Status	:   Unmarried

Educational Qualifications :
M.A. (Pol. Sc.)
Educated at Kaliabor College, Kaliabor, Nagaon and Guwahati University, 
Guwahati (Assam)

Profession :
   Political and Social Worker, Sportsman and Agriculturist, Farmer

Permanent Address :
   Vill. Balisatra, P.O. Kuwarital, Distt. Nagaon-782001 (Assam)
Tel. (03672) 82611 (Kaliabor)

Positions Held :
   1996Elected to Lok Sabha (Eleventh) 

Social and Cultural Activities :

Involved in social work; steered All Assam Students Union in various capacities including Presidentship for the genuine cause of Assam; established a B.Ed. College in Kaliabor

Special Interests :

Upliftment of the poor and the deprived; diplomatic activities, also worked for creating conducive educational climate

Other Information :

Imprisoned thrice for advocating genuine problems of Assam including the issue of foreign nationals; Lecturer, Department of Political Science, Kaliabor College, Kaliabor; Coordinator, Manab Adhikar Parishad (MAP) (Human Rights Organisation of Assam); Central Executive, North East Students Organisation (NESO); General Secretary (i) Kaliabor Central Students Union (Regional Unit of A.A.S.U.); (ii) Kaliabor Kendriya Gana Sangram Parishad (Regional Unit, A.A.S.G.S.P.); Astt. General Secretary, Students Union Distt. Nagaon (Distt. Unit of A.A.S.U.); Vice-President, Students Union Distt. Nagaon (Distt. Unit of A.A.S.U.), 1979-85; Secretary, Cultural Affairs and Publicity, A.A.S.U., 1985-94; President, A.A.S.U., 1985-94; Advisor, A.A.S.U., 1985-94; Member, A.G.P., Executive Member, Central Executive Committee, A.G.P., 1995.

Election Result :
Kaliabor Lok Sabha constituency
Total electorate	9,99,960
Total Votes polled	7,78,723
Votes polled in favour of the 
first four leading candidates:
(1) Shri Keshab Mahanta 	(A.G.P.)	2,83,086
(2) Shri Tarun Gogoi 		(I.N.C.)	2,81,470
(3) Shri Abdul Mannan Faruque [A.I.I.C.(T)]	1,17,410
(4) Shri Purna Kanta Gohain 	(B.J.P.)	  41,336


These Biodata of present and past Members of Parliament are taken from Also any reference to the location of a particular State, or Country in the bio-profile of Members (particularly in the columns ‘place of birth’ or ‘Educated at’) is given by the Members themselves while filling up of the Proforma after their election to the Lok Sabha. Any discrepancy in data should be brought to our notice for correction. Our Email: [email protected]

Important Links:

Go to Kaliabor MP Constituency Page

Go to Assam MP Election Page

Go to Indian Election and Politics Master Page

Go to Yearbook Page

Latest Govt Job & Exam Updates:

View Full List ...