Shri M. Selvarasu Member of Parliament (MP) from Nagapattinam-SC (Tamil Nadu) Biodata

Name of Member: Shri M. Selvarasu

Political Party: Communist Party of India

Constituency & State: Nagapattinam-SC (Tamil Nadu)

Lok Sabha Experience: 9,11,12

Biographical Sketch Member of Parliament 12th Lok Sabha


Father's Name	   	Shri K. Muniyan

Date of Birth	   	16 March 1957

Place of Birth	   	Kappaludaiyan, Distt. Thanjavur 
			(Tamil Nadu )

Marital Status	   	Married on 15 June 1984

Spouse's Name	   	Smt. Kamalavathanam

Children	   	One daughter

Educational Qualifications 	


		Educated at Kalaingar Karunanidhi Government
		Arts College, Thiruvarur (Tamil Nadu)


		Agriculturist, Political and Social Worker

Permanent Address    	

		Kovil Sithamali, P.O. Sithamali,
		Taluka Mannargudy-614705 
		(Tamil Nadu)

		Tels. (04369) 60300, (04366) 22705

Present Address     	

		17, North Avenue, 
                New Delhi-110001

		Tel. (011) 3794707

Positions Held 
1985		Executive Member, Communist Party of India
onwards		(C.P.I.), Distt. Thanjavur 	
1986		Member, State Council, C.P.I., Tamil Nadu 

1989		Elected to 9th Lok Sabha 

1990-91		Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of 
		Petroleum and Chemicals

1996		Re-elected to 11th Lok Sabha (2nd term)

1996-97		Member, Committee on Petroleum and Chemicals

		Member, Committee of Privileges

		Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Agriculture

1998		Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (3rd term) 

1998-99		Member, Committee on Petroleum and Chemicals

		Member, Select Committee on the Constitution
		(Scheduled Tribes) Order (Amendment) Bill, 1996

		Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Agriculture

Social and Cultural Activities    	

Welfare of the poor and the landless; making efforts for
generating employment for the youth and promotion of 

Favourite Pastime and Recreation    

Reading and social service

Election Result of
Nagapattinam-SC Lok Sabha Constituency  

Total electorate 	10,21,037
Total votes polled 	 6,61,129

Votes polled in favour of the first four leading candidates

(1) Shri M. Selvarasu 	(C.P.I.)       3,75,589
(2) Dr. K. Gopal 	(A.I.A.D.M.K.) 2,44,286
(3) M. Thiagarajan 	(I.N.C.)         15,837
(4) G. Jeevanandam 	(P.T.)            3,354



These Biodata of present and past Members of Parliament are taken from Also any reference to the location of a particular State, or Country in the bio-profile of Members (particularly in the columns ‘place of birth’ or ‘Educated at’) is given by the Members themselves while filling up of the Proforma after their election to the Lok Sabha. Any discrepancy in data should be brought to our notice for correction. Our Email: [email protected]

Important Links:

Go to Nagapattinam MP Constituency Page

Go to Tamil Nadu MP Election Page

Go to Indian Election and Politics Master Page

Go to Yearbook Page

Latest Govt Job & Exam Updates:

View Full List ...