Shri Radhelal Beharilal Vyas Member of Parliament (MP) from Ujjain-SC (Madhya Pradesh) Biodata

Name of Member: Shri Radhelal Beharilal Vyas

Political Party: Congress

Constituency & State: Ujjain-SC (Madhya Pradesh)

Lok Sabha Experience: 1,2,3

Third Lok Sabha

Members Bioprofile

VYAS, SHRI RADHELAL, B.A., LL.B., Cong., (Madhya Pradesh—Ujjain—1962):  S. of Shri Biharilal Vyas; B. Shajapur (M.P.), August 23, 1909; ed at Middle School, Shajapur, Madhava Collegiate High School, Ujjain, Victoria College, Gwalior and Holkar College, Indore; m. Shrimati Gitabai, August 3, 1927; 4 S. and 4 D.; Lawyer; Suffered externment and internment in Gwalior State in 1941 due to his social and political activities; Joined the Quit India movement of the Congress in Gwalior and was imprisoned and kept under detention, 1942-43; Member, Working Committee of Ujjain Sarvajanik Sabha, 1936-37; Founder of Khachraud Branch of Gwalior State Sarvajanik Sabha (State Congress), 1938; Secretary of Khachraud Sarvajanik Sabha, 1938—47; Secretary or President of the Ujjain district State Congress, 1940—47; Member of the Working Committee and the Central Committee of the Gwalior State Congress, 1939—48; Member of the working committee of the Central India States Peoples Conference, 1946—48; Member of the working Committee of the Madhya Bharat P.C.C., 1948-49; Dealt with all the Jagir problems in Gwalior State as member of the Gwalior State Congress Working Committee, 1939—47; Member, Pargana Board, Khachraud, 1937—41; Member of the Gwalior State Assembly from 1945; Leader of the Congress Party and, the leader of the opposition in Gwalior State Assembly, 1945—48; Member of the Pay and RetrenchmentCommission of Gwalior Government, 1947; Minister of Food and Agriculture of Gwalior State, 1947; Successfully negotiated with Gwalior Maharaja and introduced constitutional reforms including responsible government in Gwalior State under authority from the Working Committee of the Gwalior State Congress, 1948; Minister of Revenue, Jagir and Food of Gwalior State, 1948-49; Worked for the formation of the United State of Madhya Bharat State, 1948; Minister of Revenue, Jagir and Food, Madhya Bharat, 1948-49; Member, Provisional Parliament; President of the Ujjain Bar Association, 1950; Member of the First Lok Sabha, 1952—57 and Second Lok Sabha, 1957—62; Chairman of the Nahan Foundry Enquiry Commission, 1955; Served as a member of the Estimates and Public Accounts Committees and Privileges Committee.

Hobby:  Coaching up of small children.

Special interest:  Food and Agriculture, Cooperation and Community Development work, education and health.

Permanent address:  Advocate, Brahman Gali, Ujjain.

[Voting results at the Election:

Electorate:  4,43,179

Shri Radhelal Vyas                                              . .                  84,976

Shri Mahendra Bhatnagar                                   . .                  56,305

Shri Nandkishore Purushottam                           . .                  35,662

Shri Shantilal                                                       . .                 27,777 

Shri Palanji Naserwanji Mehta                            . .                    7,231

Shri Diwakar Deshpande                                    . .                    5,999].


These Biodata of present and past Members of Parliament are taken from Also any reference to the location of a particular State, or Country in the bio-profile of Members (particularly in the columns ‘place of birth’ or ‘Educated at’) is given by the Members themselves while filling up of the Proforma after their election to the Lok Sabha. Any discrepancy in data should be brought to our notice for correction. Our Email: [email protected]

Important Links:

Go to Ujjain MP Constituency Page

Go to Madhya Pradesh MP Election Page

Go to Indian Election and Politics Master Page

Go to Yearbook Page

Latest Govt Job & Exam Updates:

View Full List ...