Shri Sasankasekhar Sanyal Member of Parliament (MP) from Jangipur (West Bengal) Biodata

Name of Member: Shri Sasankasekhar Sanyal

Political Party: Communist Party of India (Marxist)

Constituency & State: Jangipur (West Bengal)

Lok Sabha Experience: 6

6th Lok Sabha
Members Bioprofile

SANYAL, SHRI SASANKASEKHAR, M.A., C.P.I.M, (West Bengal—Janginpur—1977):  s. of late Shri Bhabataran Sanyal; b. at Berhampore, Murshidabad District, June 11, 1901; ed. at Calcutta University; m. Smt. Usha Rani, February 2, 1925; 1 s. and 5 d.; Advocate, Supreme Court; terrorist in early years, Congress worker of complete dedication; sufferer in non-cooper-action movement; suspended practice and suffered indefinite imprisonment for Congress Movement; resigned from the Congress in 1947 on the issue of partition; imprisoned by Government in 1973; was, Municipal Commissioner, Berhampore  Municipality; President and founder of different educational institutions twice elected President of the All-Bengal and Assam Lawyers Conference; inaugurated West Bengal Democratic Lawyers Conference and thereafter presided over the said Democratic Lawyers’ Association; Member, Bengal Legislature Assembly, 1937—45; Member and Leader of the Opposition of the West Bengal Legislative Council, 1956—65; Member, Central Legislative Assembly, 1946-47; Chief Whip, Bengal Congress Parliamentary Party; Whip, Indian Congress Parliamentary Party in Opposition under the leadership of Sharat  Bose; Member, Rajya Sabha, 1970.

Social activities: Promoter of communal amity and uplift of backward community.

Favourite pastime and recreation: Athletics and, vocal music.

Special, interests: Assisting poor and needy students in the matter of their education.

Accomplishments in letters, art and science: All-India Radio Light Music Artist; Drama Artist; High class debater and platform speaker.

Publications: Author of Mayer Maya and other books; short stories and select writings on social and political subjects.

Sports and clubs: All rounder in sports; Captained, college teams in foot-ball, cricket and hockey.

Permanent address: Rabindra Tagore Road, Berhampore P.O. Murshidabad District, West Bengal.


These Biodata of present and past Members of Parliament are taken from Also any reference to the location of a particular State, or Country in the bio-profile of Members (particularly in the columns ‘place of birth’ or ‘Educated at’) is given by the Members themselves while filling up of the Proforma after their election to the Lok Sabha. Any discrepancy in data should be brought to our notice for correction. Our Email: [email protected]

Important Links:

Go to Jangipur MP Constituency Page

Go to West Bengal MP Election Page

Go to Indian Election and Politics Master Page

Go to Yearbook Page

Latest Govt Job & Exam Updates:

View Full List ...