Shri Shanti Lal Chaplot Member of Parliament (MP) from Udaipur (Rajasthan) Biodata

Name of Member: Shri Shanti Lal Chaplot

Political Party: Bharatiya Janata Party

Constituency & State: Udaipur (Rajasthan)

Lok Sabha Experience: 12

Biographical Sketch Member of Parliament 12th Lok Sabha


Father's Name       Shri Chunilal Chaplot                   

Date of Birth       2 March 1946

Place of Birth      Sanwad, Distt. Udaipur (Rajasthan)                

Marital Status      Married on 25 November 1969

Spouse's Name       Smt. Mahendra Kumari                    

Children            One son and  one daughter

Educational Qualifications  

               B.A., LL.B.
               Educated at Maharana Bhupal College and Law College,
               Udaipur (Rajasthan)



Permanent Address  

               342-B, Ashok Nagar,                     

               Tel. (0294) 414557                                                    

Present Address  

		3, Mahadeo Road,
		New Delhi-110001

		Tel. (011) 3711440

Positions Held  

1970		President, Bharatiya Jana Sangh (B.J.S.),
		Udaipur, Rajasthan

		General-Secretary, (B.J.S.), Udaipur

		President, Janata Party, Udaipur

1990- 98	Member, Rajasthan Legislative Assembly
		(two terms)

1990- 92	Minister of State, Rajasthan

1994- 95	Deputy Speaker, Rajasthan Legislative Assembly

1995- 98	Speaker, Rajasthan Legislative Assembly

1998		Elected to 12th Lok Sabha

1998- 99	Member, Rules Committee

		Member, Committee on Commerce

		Member, Library Committee

		Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of
		Urban Affairs and Employment

Social and Cultural Activities  

Engaged in social work since childhood

Special Interests  

Reading and religious activities

Favourite Pastime and Recreation  

Sports and Clubs  

Badminton, football, hockey and kabaddi

Countries Visited  

Widely travelled (14 countries); Member, Indian Parliamentar
Parliamentary Delegation to C.P.A. Conferences,(i) Sri Lanka
1995; (ii)  Malaysia, 1996; and (iii) Mauritius 1997

Other Information  

Imprisoned several times during Emergency; President,
Udaipur Bar Association, 1986; Secretary, Bharatiya Majdoor
Sangh, Rajasthan; popularised the teachings of the Geeta
and the Ramayana in the country and abroad; presented
copies of Geeta to foreign dignitaries along with the
portrait of Maharana Pratap and also a momento of Vijay

Election Result of
Udaipur Lok Sabha Constituency  

Total electorate 	12,08,894
Total votes polled 	 7,46,888

Votes polled in favour of the first four leading candidates

(1) Shri Shanti Lal Chaplot 	(B.J.P.)     3,67,994
(2) Smt. Girija Vyas 		(I.N.C.)     3,56,547
(3) Shri Tej Singh Saruparia 	(B.S.P.) 	8,059
(4) Shri Amba Lal Gameti 	[C.P.I.(ML)(L)] 1,196

These Biodata of present and past Members of Parliament are taken from Also any reference to the location of a particular State, or Country in the bio-profile of Members (particularly in the columns ‘place of birth’ or ‘Educated at’) is given by the Members themselves while filling up of the Proforma after their election to the Lok Sabha. Any discrepancy in data should be brought to our notice for correction. Our Email: [email protected]

Important Links:

Go to Udaipur MP Constituency Page

Go to Rajasthan MP Election Page

Go to Indian Election and Politics Master Page

Go to Yearbook Page

Latest Govt Job & Exam Updates:

View Full List ...