Shri Subrata Mukherjee Member of Parliament (MP) from Raiganj (West Bengal) Biodata

Name of Member: Shri Subrata Mukherjee

Political Party: Communist Party of India (Marxist)

Constituency & State: Raiganj (West Bengal)

Lok Sabha Experience: 10,11,1

Biographical Sketch Member of Parliament 12th Lok Sabha


Father's Name	    	Late Shri Rup Narayan Mukherjee

Date of Birth	    	12 October 1942

Place of Birth	    	Dalkhola, Distt. West Dinajpur 
			(West Bengal)

Marital Status	    	Married in June 1972

Spouse's Name	    	Smt. Krishna Mukherjee

Children	    	One son and one daughter

Educational Qualifications  	

		B.Sc., B.Ed.

		Educated at Calcutta University, Calcutta and
		North Bengal University, Darjeeling (West Bengal)

		Social and Political Worker

Permanent Address     	
		Vill. and P.O. Dalkhola, 
		Distt. Uttar Dinajpur 
		(West Bengal)

		Tel. (03525) 55118

Present Address  

		51, North Avenue,
		New Delhi-110001

		Tel. (011) 3792728

Positions Held     

1968		Member, Distt. Committee, Communist Party
onwards		of India (Marxist) [C.P.I.(M)], West Dinajpur

1978 		Member, Distt. Secretariat, [C.P.I.(M)], West Dinajpur

1984 		Member, State Committee, [C.P.I.(M)], West Bengal
1991		Elected to 10th Lok Sabha 

1996		Re-elected to 11th Lok Sabha (2nd term)

1991-96		Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of
		Urban Development

1996-97 and	Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Civil 
1998 onwards	Aviation and Tourism
1996-98		Member, Committee on Urban and Rural Development (two terms)
1998		Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (3rd term)

1998-99		Member, Committee on Urban and Rural Development
		and its Sub-Committee-II on Ministry of Rural Areas and

		Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Civil Aviation

Social and Cultural Activities  

Established a number of secondary schools and two degree colleges
and took part in cultural performances in the district 
Special Interests     	

Upliftment of the agricultural labourers

Favourite Pastime and Recreation     

Reading and listening to classical songs

Sports and Clubs     	


Countries Visited      	

Bangladesh, Bhutan and Nepal

Other Information  

Vice-President, (i)District Committee, All India Kisan Sabha, 
Dinajpur; and (ii) Centre of Indian Trade Unions (C.I.T.U.); 
and Member, Central Silk Board, 1991-96 and 1996-97

Election Result of
Raiganj Lok Sabha Constituency  
Total electorate 	11,26,310
Total votes polled 	 8,98,301

Votes polled in favour of the first four leading candidates

(1) Shri Subrata Mukherjee 	[C.P.I.(M)]     3,50,897
(2) Shri Priya Ranjan Dasmunsi 	(I.N.C.)        3,44,616
(3) Shri Rahul Sinha 		(B.J.P.)        1,60,239
(4) Shri Ajit Kumar Das 	[C.P.I.(ML)(L)]    8,481


These Biodata of present and past Members of Parliament are taken from Also any reference to the location of a particular State, or Country in the bio-profile of Members (particularly in the columns ‘place of birth’ or ‘Educated at’) is given by the Members themselves while filling up of the Proforma after their election to the Lok Sabha. Any discrepancy in data should be brought to our notice for correction. Our Email: [email protected]

Important Links:

Go to Raiganj MP Constituency Page

Go to West Bengal MP Election Page

Go to Indian Election and Politics Master Page

Go to Yearbook Page

Latest Govt Job & Exam Updates:

View Full List ...

© Copyright Entrance India - Engineering and Medical Entrance Exams in India | Website Maintained by Firewall Firm - IT Monteur