ECI issues notification for polls to four Rajya Sabha seats from Odisha | Bhubaneswar News

BHUBANESWAR: Four Rajya Sabha seats in Odisha are among total 55 seats, which would go to poll on March 26 as the Election Commission of India (ECI) issued notification on Tuesday.
Elections to these seats are necessitated as tenure of Anubhav Mohanty, Narendra Swain, Sarojini Hembram of BJD and Ranjib Biswal of Congress would end on April 2.
Going by the number of MLAs of BJD in the state assembly, the regional party is all set to retain three seats while all eyes are on the fourth seat.
According to the ECI communication, formal notification at the state level for the Rajya Sabha polls will be issued on March 6 while candidates can file nominations till March 13. Scrutiny of nominations will be held on March 16. Last date for withdrawal of candidatures is March 18.
Elections will be held on March 26 between 9am to 4pm while counting of votes will be held on the same day at 5pm. The entire election process will be completed before March 30.
As all the four seats are for full six years, senior leaders have already begun intense lobbying for a Rajya Sabha berth. As BJD president and chief minister Naveen Patnaik keeps the card close to his chest on party’s nominees for the upper house of the parliament, senior BJD leaders are also clueless.
The BJD is likely to announce its candidate in March second week, said party insiders.

Source link

Latest Govt Job & Exam Updates:

View Full List ...