Shri H.D. Devegowda

Shri H.D. Devegowda

Constituency   : Hassan (Karnataka )
Party Name     : Janata Dal (Secular)(JD(S))
Email Address : haradanahalli[AT]yahoo[DOT]co[DOT]in
Father’s Name Late Shri Dodde Gowda
Mother’s Name Smt. Devamma
Date of Birth 18 May 1933
Place of Birth Holenarsipura, Distt. Hassan (Karnataka)
Marital Status Married
Date of Marriage 25 May 1954
Spouse’s Name Smt. Chennamma
No. of Sons 4
No.of Daughters 2
Diploma in Civil Engineering
Educated at Smt.L.V. Polytechnic, Hassan, Karnataka
Profession Agriculturist
Engineer, Farmer, Social Worker
Permanent Address
743, “Amogh”, 2nd Main Road, 9th Cross, Padmanabha Nagar,
Bangalore-560 070, Karnataka
Telefax : (080) 26891444
Present Address
5, Safdarjung Lane,
New Delhi – 110 011
Tels. (011) 23794499, 23794431
Fax. (011) 23010288
Positions Held
1962-89 Member, Karnataka Legislative Assembly (seven terms)
1972-76 Leader of Opposition, Karnataka Legislative Assembly
1983-89 Minister, Public Works and Irrigation, Government of Karnataka
1985-1989 Chairman, Public Accounts Committee, Karnataka Legislative Assembly
1991 Elected to 10th Lok Sabha
1991-94 Member, Standing Committee on Commerce
Member, Joint Parliamentary Committee on Fertilizers
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Agriculture
1993-94 President, Janata Dal, Karnataka
Member, Karnataka Legislative Assembly
1994-96 Chief Minister, Government of Karnataka
Jun. 1996 – Apr. 1997 Prime Minister of India and also incharge of Ministries/Departments of Petroleum and Chemicals, Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions, Atomic Energy, Home Affairs, Agriculture, Food Processing Industries, Urban Affairs and Employment and Non-Conventional Energy Sources
1996-98 Member, Rajya Sabha
Nov. 1996-Apr. 1997 Leader of the House, Rajya Sabha
1998 Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
National President, Janata Dal (S)
2002 Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha in bye-election (3rd term)
2004 Re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha( 4th term)
5 Aug. 2006-2008 Member, Standing Committee on Railways
2009 Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha (5th term)
Leader, Janata Dal (Secular) Parliamentary Party, Lok Sabha
31 Aug. 2009 Member, Standing Committee on Defence
May, 2014 Re-elected to 16th Lok Sabha (6th term)
1 Sep. 2014 onwards Member, Standing Committee on Defence
Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Urban Development, Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation
Special Interests
Agriculture and Horticulture
Favourite Pastime and Recreation
Countries Visited
Widely travelled; as Minister, Chief Minister, Prime Minister and as a Member, Indian Parliamentary Delegations, Commonwealth Parliamentary Association, London
Other Information
Participated in the freedom struggle as a student leader; Member, Indian National Congress, 1952-62; imprisoned under Maintenance of Internal Security Act (MISA) during Emergency 1976; Member, (i) Taluk Development Board; and (ii) Co-operative Societies

Click here to see Bio Data at


The information given herewith about any person is taken from, to the best of our knowledge, true and accurate at the time of publication and is solely for informational and educational purposes. A link to the above mentioned Government Website Page of the particular Member is given herewith for verification. Changing circumstances or alteration of information may not change automatically in our website at any point of time. Any person desirous to change particular information about their data may contact us via email ([email protected]). The Website or its parent company accepts no liability for any loss or damage howsoever arising as a result of use or reliance on these Web pages or on the information thereon or in respect of information accessed via any links from the Web pages.

Latest Govt Job & Exam Updates:

View Full List ...