District residents should heartily participate in special summary


Appeals to use NVSP portal to create error-free voter lists, to make new votes and to rectify the electorate details

Assistant Commissioner held meeting with representatives of political parties

 SAS Nagar: Deputy Commissioner-cum-District Election Officer Girish Dayalan today exhorted the district residents and representatives of different political parties to wholeheartedly participate in the special summary revision of electoral rolls, which will be started on the directions of the Election Commission of India and Office of the Chief Electoral Officer, Punjab.


Dayalan informed that special summary revision will start from December 16 to January 15, 2020. During this period, claims and objections to be given to concerned Booth Level Officers (BLOs) or Electoral Registration Officers on the basis of eligibility date January 1, 2020.


District Election Officer said that people should maximum utilize commission’s National Voters Service Portal (NVSP) for the creation of error-free voter lists, to make new votes, rectify the mistakes and for the correction of details of the electors. He said that any voter, who is 18 years old or above, can apply for a new vote on the portal besides making corrections in the details of the already registered voters.


Divulging the details of rationalization of polling stations in the district, he said that total 754 polling stations, including 749 old and 5 new, are existed in Kharar, SAS Nagar and Dera Bassi assembly constituencies of the district. He said that rationalization of polling stations having more than 1,500 voters has been done, after which 1 new polling station in kharar and 4 polling stations in Dera Bassi constituency have been created.


In this series, Assistant Commissioner (General) Yashpal Sharma held meeting with the representative of political parties to discuss the various issued pertaining to special summary revision and 100 percent rationalization of the polling station. He said that special summary revision of electoral rolls would be done by BLOs in three assembly constituencies. He urged the representative of political parties to appoint Booth Level Agents (BLAs) as soon as possible so that support for special summary revision could be provided to BLOs.



Election Tehsildar Sanjay Kumar, BJP District Treasurer and Member District Grievances Redressal Committee Joginder Singh Kanwar, Aam Aadmi Party District General Secretary Bahadur Singh Chahal, Bahujan Samaj Party General Secretary Mr Sukhdev Singh and Harnek Singh along with representatives of other parties were present in the meeting.


Source link

Latest Govt Job & Exam Updates:

View Full List ...