Shri Ajay Kumar S. Sarnaik Member of Parliament (MP) from Bagalkot (Karnataka) Biodata

Name of Member: Shri Ajay Kumar S. Sarnaik

Political Party: Lok Shakti

Constituency & State: Bagalkot (Karnataka)

Lok Sabha Experience: 12

Biographical Sketch Member of Parliament 12th Lok Sabha


Father's Name       	Shri Sambasadashiv                      

Date of Birth       	12 May 1956

Place of Birth      	Bagalkot (Karnataka)                              

Marital Status      	Married on 29 April 1979

Spouse's Name       	Smt. Laxmi                              

Children            	One son and  one daughter

Educational Qualifications  

               Higher Secondary

               Educated at Sainik School, Bijapur (Karnataka)


               Agriculturist, Political and Social Worker

Permanent Address  

               Hire Sanshi, P.O. Devenal,              
               Taluk Bagalkot-587101                   

               Tel. (08354) 50795                                                    

Present Address

	       6, Ferozeshah Road,
	       New Delhi - 110001

	       Tel. (011) 3358549
Positions Held  

1989-94        Member, Karnataka Legislative Assembly
               (two terms)

1994-98        Minister of State, Youth Affairs and Sports,

1998           Elected to 12th Lok Sabha

1998-99 and    Member, Committee on Estimates

1998-99        Member, Committee on External Affairs  and 
	       its Sub-Committee-II
	       Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Agriculture

Special Interests  

Horticulture and sports

Favourite Pastime and Recreation  


Sports and Clubs  

Golf and badminton; Member, (i) Karnataka State Cricket
Association; (ii) Karnataka State Badminton Association;
and (iii) Karnataka State Golf Club

Countries Visited  

Germany, Holland, Sweden, U.K. (Member, Karnataka Sports
Delegation); and Member, Indian Olympic Delegation, Atlanta,
U.S.A., 1996

Election Result of
Bagalkot Lok Sabha Constituency  

Total electorate 	10,79,932
Total votes polled 	 7,24,951

Votes polled in favour of the first four leading candidates

(1) Shri Ajaykumar S. Sarnaik 			(L.S.)   3,52,795
(2) Shri Siddu Nyamagouda 			(I.N.C.) 2,69,163
(3) Shri Meti Hullappa Yamanappa 		(J.D.)     80,868
(4) Shri Ganiger Parappa Ningappa 		(K.T.V.P.)  3,282


These Biodata of present and past Members of Parliament are taken from Also any reference to the location of a particular State, or Country in the bio-profile of Members (particularly in the columns ‘place of birth’ or ‘Educated at’) is given by the Members themselves while filling up of the Proforma after their election to the Lok Sabha. Any discrepancy in data should be brought to our notice for correction. Our Email: [email protected]

Important Links:

Go to Bagalkot MP Constituency Page

Go to Karnataka MP Election Page

Go to Indian Election and Politics Master Page

Go to Yearbook Page