Shri Manoharlal Sondhi Member of Parliament (MP) from New Delhi (Delhi) Biodata

Name of Member: Shri Manoharlal Sondhi

Political Party: Jan Sangh

Constituency & State: New Delhi (Delhi)

Lok Sabha Experience: 4

4th Lok Sabha
Members Bioprofile

SONDHI, SHRI MANOHARLAL, M.A., LL.B.. J.S.. (Delhi-New Delhi-1967):  s. of late Shri Ram Lal Sondhi; b. at Jullundur, December 14, 1933; ed. at Punjab University, Delhi School of Economics, Oxford University, London School of Economics, Charles University (Prague); Visiting scholar at Columbia University, Harvard University and Institute of International, Affairs (Warsaw); m. Smt. Madhuri, July 8, 1962;1 s.; University Teacher; stood first in order of merit in the All India competitive examination for I.A.S., I.F.S.; served in the Indian Foreign Service, 1956—62; resigned from service and took up teaching and research in international politics.

Social activities:  Associated with the Sanskrit Hebrew Society, Ananda K. Coomaraswamy Memorial Committee and the Delhi Sangeet Samaj.

Hobby:  Gardening.

Favourite pastime and recreation:  Reading, music.

Special interest:  Foreign Affairs.

Publications:  Written articles on “National Interest and Our Foreign Policy”, “Power Realities Facing India” and “India and East Europe in the context of Chinese Aggression”.

Sports:  Hockey and Squash.

Travels abroad:  U.K., Czechoslovakia, U.S.A., Yugoslavia. Belgium, Germany, Afghanistan.

Permanent address:  39, Bhagat Road, Jullundur Cantt., Punjab.


These Biodata of present and past Members of Parliament are taken from Also any reference to the location of a particular State, or Country in the bio-profile of Members (particularly in the columns ‘place of birth’ or ‘Educated at’) is given by the Members themselves while filling up of the Proforma after their election to the Lok Sabha. Any discrepancy in data should be brought to our notice for correction. Our Email: [email protected]

Important Links:

Go to New Delhi MP Constituency Page

Go to NCT of Delhi MP Election Page

Go to Indian Election and Politics Master Page

Go to Yearbook Page