Shri P. T. Thomas Member of Parliament (MP) from Idukki (Kerala) Biodata

Name of Member: Shri P. T. Thomas

Political Party: Indian National Congress

Constituency & State: Idukki (Kerala)

Lok Sabha Experience: 15

Fifteenth Lok Sabha

Members Bioprofile
Thomas, Shri P. T.
Constituency   : Idukki (Kerala)
Party Name     : Indian National Congress (INC)
Email Address : ptthomasidk[AT]gmail[DOT]com
Father’s Name Late Shri Thomas Puthiyaparambil
Mother’s Name Late Smt. Annamma Thomas
Date of Birth 12 Dec 1950
Place of Birth Idukki (Kerala)
Marital Status Married
Spouse’s Name Smt. Uma Thomas
No. of Sons 2
M.A. (History), LL.B.
Educated at Mar Ivanios College Thiruvananthapuram; Newman College, Thodupuzha, Idukki; Maharajas College Ernakulam; Government Law College, Kozhikode; and Government Law College, Ernakulam, Kerala
Profession Political and Social Worker
Permanent Address
Upputhode, Rajamudi-685604
Distt. Idukki,
Tels.(04862) 229595, 09447029595 (M)
Present Address
34, South Avenue,
New Delhi – 110 011
Tels. (011) 23010594, 9013180092 (M)
Positions Held
Kerala State General Secretary, Indian Youth Congress
1980 Member, Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee
Member, All India Congress Committee
Executive Committee Member, Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee
1990 Member, Idukki District Council
1991-2001 Member, Kerala Legislative Assembly (two terms)
Feb. 2007 President, District Congress Committee
2009 Elected to 15th Lok Sabha
31 Aug. 2009 Member, Committee on Personnel, Public Grievances, Law and Justice
Books Published
Formerly Editor (i) `Kalasala` the periodical published by Kerala Students Union; (ii) `Cheppu` a cultural publication; formerly Kerala Pradesh Organiser, `Varnika` the Periodical owned by All India Congress Committee; publisher and Chief Editor `ManavaSamskrithi` a monthly in Malayalam;author of the book`ADB-yum Prathyayasasthra Shadyangalum` a study based on the developmental issues of Kerala in the context of ADB Loan; and several articles published in renowned periodicals
Social And Cultural Activities
Best orator, Akhila Kerala Balajana Sakhyam (under Malayala Manorama); Founder Chairman, Samskruthi, a cultural organization;Chairman, C.P. Sreedharan Smaraka Trust; Executive Committee Member, Kerala State Library Council; Former Member, National Youth Advisory Board under Department of Youth Affairs and Sport; and Leader, Indian Team for the International Youth Festival, Venice, 1989
Other Information
Participated in mass agitation as a secondary school student for the constitution of Idukki district and arrested for picketing Village Office Konnathady, Idukki, Kerala;Vice President, Kerala Students Union Unit Committee, Mar Ivanios College, Thiruvananthapuram during the period of Pre Degree Course and the General Secretary, College Union; Idukki District President, Kerala Students Union; University Union Councillor, State general Secretary and State President, Kerala Students Union; Senate Member, Unitersity of Kerala; and worked as the front-runner for the construction of a tomb and monument for the tribal partriarch Kolumban who was the guide for the exploration of the site for Idukki Arch Dam; Winner (i) C.P. Sreedharan for best MLA, constituted by Veekshanam Readers Forum Abudabi; (ii) C.M. Stephen Cultural Forum Kuwait, 2005 for outstanding performance as MLA; and (iii) V.K. Gopoinathan Master Memento constituted by Thrippayar Welfare Society Thrissur for models in social cultural political works; Practiced as an Advocate in the High Court of Kerala; Member, Adhoc committee studied Kerala river waters agreement with neighbouring States (especially Mullapperiyar and Parambikkulam)


These Biodata of present and past Members of Parliament are taken from Also any reference to the location of a particular State, or Country in the bio-profile of Members (particularly in the columns ‘place of birth’ or ‘Educated at’) is given by the Members themselves while filling up of the Proforma after their election to the Lok Sabha. Any discrepancy in data should be brought to our notice for correction. Our Email: [email protected]

Important Links:

Go to Idukki MP Constituency Page

Go to Kerala MP Election Page

Go to Indian Election and Politics Master Page

Go to Yearbook Page