East Khasi Hills District of Meghalaya at a Glance

Lok Sabha Constituencies in East Khasi Hills district, Meghalaya (MP Constituencies) Shillong
MLA Assembly Constituencies in East Khasi Hills district, Meghalaya Mawryngkneng
East Shillong
North Shillong
West Shillong
South Shillong

About East Khasi Hills District :

The Khasi Hills District was divided into two districts, viz the East Khasi Hills District and the West Khasi Hills District on 28th October 1976. On June 4th, 1992, East Khasi Hills District was further divided into two administrative districts of East Khasi Hills District and Ri-Bhoi District. East Khasi Hills District forms a central part of Meghalaya and covers a total geographical area of 2,748 Sq. Kms. The district is bounded by Ri-Bhoi District on the north, Karbi Anglong District on the north east, Jaintia Hills district on the east, Bangladesh on the south and West Khasi Hills district on the west. The Total population of the district is 8,24,059 as per Census 2011. The headquarters of the district is Shillong which is also the capital city of State. For administrative reasons the district is divided into eight Community & Rural Development Blocks, viz. Khadarshnong Laitkroh, Mawkynrew, Mawphlang, Mawryngkneng, Mawsynram, Mylliem, Pynursla, and Shella Bholaganj. The place of tourist interests in the districts are Lady Hydari Park, Ward’s Lake, Cathedral Catholic Church, Capt. Williamson Sangma State Museum, Don Bosco Centre for Indigenous Cultures, Golf Course, Spread Eagle Falls, Sweet Falls, Elephant Falls, and Shillong Peak.

District at a Glance :

  • District – 
  • Headquarters – 
  • State – 
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total – 
  • Rural – 
  • Urban – 
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population – 
  • Rural – 
  • Urban – 
  • Male – 
  • Female – 
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males) – 
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km) – 
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha – 

Tourist Places :


Latest Govt Job & Exam Updates:

View Full List ...