East Sikkim District of Sikkim at a Glance

Lok Sabha Constituencies in East Sikkim district, Sikkim (MP Constituencies) Sikkim
MLA Assembly Constituencies in East Sikkim district, Sikkim Sangha
Upper Burtuk
Upper Tadong
West Pendam
Kabi Lungchuk

About East Sikkim District :

East Sikkim district occupies the south-east corner of the state. It is bounded by North District in the north ,China and Bhutan in the East,Darjeeling district of the state of West Bengal in the South and South District in the western side. East District is located at 88°27’ to 88°56’E longitude and 27°9’ to 27°25’ N latitude. The total geographical area of the district is 954 sq. km. According to 2011 Census, east district has total population of 281293 persons with a density of 295 persons per square kilometer. The HQ of East Sikkim is Gangtok, which is the state capital. It is the hub of all administrative activity in the state. For administrative purpose the district has been further divided in to three sub- divisions namely Gangtok, Pakyong and Rongli. Apart from the modern attractions of the capital town, the beautiful Tsomgo(Changu) Lake, the historically important Nathula pass, Baba Mandir as well as many monasteries and temples are located in the district. The world famous Rumtek monastery and about 300 years old Enchey monastery is also located in the district.

District at a Glance :

  • District – 
  • Headquarters – 
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total – 
  • Rural – 
  • Urban – 
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population – 
  • Rural – 
  • Urban – 
  • Male – 
  • Female – 
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)  – 
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km) – 
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha – 
  • Official Website



Latest Govt Job & Exam Updates:

View Full List ...