Guna District of Madhya pradesh at a Glance

District profile :

The Guna district is located on the north-eastern part of Malwa Plateau between the Parbati and the Betwa. As its eastern part has some cultural affinity with Jhansi and Sagar, it as also referred sometimes as Bundelkhand. Mathematically, the district is situated between the latitudes 23.53′ 5″N and 25.6 55″N., and longitudes 76.48’30″E. and 78.15’40″E.

The eastern and western boundaries of the district are well defined by the rivers. The Betwa flows along the eastern boundary of Guna, separating it from Sagar district, and Lalitpur and Jhansi districts of Uttar Pradesh. The Parbati is the main river flowing along the western boundary, touching Rajgarh district of Madhya Pradesh and Jhalawar and Kota districts of Rajasthan, Shivpuri district and Shahabad tehsil of Kota district are located in the north where as Vidisha, Bhopal and Rajgarh lies to the South and Ashoknagar district touches from east. By and large the eastern and western boundaries are inter-Statal Boundaries.

Guna is located in Gwalior division. In the district Guna , Aaron, Raghogarh, Madhusudhangarh, Bamori, Chachoda and Kumbhraj are the 7 tehsils and Guna , Aaron, Raghogarh, Chachoda, Bamori are 5 blocks. The number of inhabited villages in the district are 1264 and the total of 425 village panchayats. Five district panchayats and two municipalties also three town panchayats in the district. There are four Assembly seats in the district.

Guna district is divided into 5 sub-divisions : –

1.   Guna
2.   Raghogarh
3.   Aron
4.   Chachoda
5.   Bamori

These are further divided into 7 tehsils : –

1.   Guna
2.   Raghogarh
3.   Aron
4.   Chachoda
5.   Bamori
6.   Madhusudangarh
7.   Kumbhraj


District at a Glance

  • District – 
  • Headquarters
  • State – 
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total – 
  • Rural – 
  • Urban – 
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population – 
  • Rural – 
  • Urban – 
  • Male – 
  • Female – 
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males) – 
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km) – 
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly – 
  • Loksabha – 

Tourist Places :

Hanuman Tekri –

Hanuman tekri mandir is located almost 5 kilometer from the district head quarter in Guna. On high hills there is ancient temple of hanuman statue is placed facing the south direction. This place of Tekri sarkar was prior to seventh century and the center of Tapobhumi for sadhu sants.



Bees Bhuja Devi Temple –

Beejbhuja_deviMother goddess Bisbhuja Devi Mandir which is located 8 km from the district Head Quarter. On high hills lovely court of goddess Bisbhuja Devi was decorated. Formally goddess bisbhuja devi temple was established in a small temple . Gradual restoration a magnificent temple was constructed. It is a legendry that the Devi had a 20 arms and no one is able to count. The devotee on the mother’s grace , that is the one who has the privilege of counting the twenty arms of goddess Bisbhuja Devi.

Bajranggarh –

fortThe members of development authority said regarding historical facts of bajranggad fort is that this fort is buit in 12th century by Rajvansh by black stone and attractive statues are carved on the walls of the fort the residues are also seen today itself you can see examples of bravery .For the security of the fort the artilleries of different sizes are posted within the fort and they said the French General John Beptiste invaded the fort to destroy it . According to the invoice written on the archway of the fort premises that the artilleries are made up of Ashta metal in 1775.

Gopi Sagar Sagar Dam –


Latest Govt Job & Exam Updates:

View Full List ...