Sitapur District of Uttar Pradesh at a Glance

Lok Sabha Constituencies in Sitapur district, Uttar Pradesh (MP Constituencies) Dhaurahra
MLA Assembly Constituencies in Sitapur district, Uttar Pradesh Biswan

About Sitapur District :

Legends connect many places in episodes in Mahabharata and Ramayana.There is a usual tradition of a raid by a general of Ghazi Saiyyad Salar Masud. The rise of Rajput power, according to tradition of great clan which held the district, was somewhat later than in Southern Oudh (Avadh). The influx continued till the reign of Aurangzeb. The Rajputs generally found the soil occupied by the Pasis, whom they crushed or drove away. Under the early kings of Muhammadan kings of Delhi, the country was normally ruled by the Governor of Bahraich, but little authority was exercised

District at a Glance :

  • District – 
  • Headquarters – 
  • State – 
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total – 
  • Rural – 
  • Urban – 
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population – 
  • Rural – 
  • Urban – 
  • Male – 
  • Female – 
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males) – 
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km) – 
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Tourist Places :

Namisharanya This Place was centre of religious and knowledge. there are 30 thousand  Religious places here.88000 Mendicants meditated here. People from all over India visit this holy places. Some important holy places at Namisharanya are as follows:-
Chakratirth This places is holiest in the Naimisharanya. It is said that Lord Brahma’s Device chakra fell this pious land and created a round “Kund” which is named as Chakra Tirth
Lalita Devi Temple This is very famous temple among religious devants.
Panch Prayag This pond is situated near the Lalita Devi temple
Vyas Gaddi It is situated near Chakratirth where Rishi divided vedas in four parts and also created Purans.
Soot Gaddi Soot and Shaunak had discourse at this place
Sri Hanuman Garhi and Panch Pandav Here large statue of  Lord Hanuman is situated.When in Tretayug Ahi Ravana took Shri Ram Lakshman ji to another world (Paataal), then, Shri Hanuman ji slaughtered Ahi Ravana. While bringing Shri Ram Lakshman ji on his shoulders, Makardhvaj changed their path, due to which Shri Hanuman ji appeared apparently in Naimisharanya. Here the Path of Sunderkand holds uncanny grandeur.
Mishrit This is the another religious place situated 10 KM away from Namisharanya. Maharishi Dadhichi  Asharam and Sitakund are holy pilgrimage of this place.
Sitapur ( Shyamnathan Temple) This Shiv Temple was built 300-400 years before and is situated in old Sitapur City

Historical Places :

There are many historical places/towns in the district Sitapur, some of them are as follows :-

Machrehta :- In Aainae Akbari this place has been referred as more than 400 years old. This was meditation  place of Machendar Nath, hence this name. There is an old Inn, Imambara and many temples and mosques, these are called ‘Haridwar Tirth’.

Mehmoodabad:- King Akbar’s commander Nawab Mehmood Khan established this town. His predecessors ruled this place till Zamindari abolition.

Aurangabad:- Earlier it was known as “Balpur Pasau” created by pasis. In 1670 A.D. Aurangzeb presented this place to Bahadurbeg who named it as Aurangabad.

Bara Gaon:- This is an ancient place. There are more mosque and pond which is called “Badesar”.

Biswan:- One fakir Bishwer nath established this town about 600 year ago and hence the town was called Biswan. The  grave of Mumtaz Husain of  persian style made in 1047 Hijri is famous for sturdiness. So  many buildings, Dargah, Mosques, Inn etc. are there made by Shekhbari in 1173 Hijri. Hazrat Gulzar Shah’s Mazar is famous for communal harmony, where annual Urs/ Mela is held every year.

Hargaon:- Famous King of Ayudhiya Harishchandra established this town. There is a pound named ‘Suraj Kund’ of hindus, A Mela is organized in the month of Kartik Poornima.

Khairabad:- It was a place of pilgrimage in the times of King Vikarmaditya. Some say that Khaira pasi established this town in 11th century. Babar took it in his reign from Bahadur Khan in 1527. It remained under Humayun till he was defeated by Shershah. There were 25 palaces during the reign of Emperor Akbar which are now placed in Khiri & Hardoi districts. It was a big trading centre also, where Kashmiri shawls,Jewels of Burmingham and Elephents of Assam were traded. It was the Commissionary of Awadh State at the time of Akbar and Lucknow was under the Khairabad. Imam bara and few other buildings are existing there. Dargah of Hazrat Makhdoom sb. is famous among devotees.

Laharpur:- In 1374 A.D. Firozshah Tuglak habilitated this place, after 30 years Pasis in the leadership of Lohari defeated him out and changed its name to Loharipur, which changed to ‘Laharpur’ in course of time. Raja Todar Mal the revenue minister and Navratna of Akbar’s Ministry was born here.

Latest Govt Job & Exam Updates:

View Full List ...