Vijayapura (Bijapur) District of Karnataka at a Glance

Lok Sabha Constituencies in Vijayapura (Bijapur) district, Karnataka (MP Constituencies) Bijapur
MLA Assembly Constituencies in Vijayapura (Bijapur) district, Karnataka Babaleshwar
Basavana Bagevadi
Bijapur City
Devar Hippargi

About Vijayapura (Bijapur) District :

Bijapur district is one of the Twenty Seven districts of Chhattisgarh State and Bijapur town is the administrative headquarters of this district. It was earlier part of Dantewada District. The Bijapur district occupies the southernmost part of Chhattisgarh state. The district is bound on north and northeast of its parent district, i.e. Dantewada district. on east by Dantewada district of Chhattisgarh district, on south and lower half portion of the western state by Andhra Pradesh state and the remaining western portion by Maharashtra state. The total area of the district is approximately 6562.48 Sq. Kms. a The four block divisions are Bijapur, Bairamgarh, Bhopalpatnam and Usoor. Most part of the district consists of hills. The loftiest peak of the district is Bailadila or the “Bullock’s Hump”. It is situated to the south of the Indrawati river and tilts towards north-south . The district is rich in forest. The forest found in the district falls under the dry region comprising mixed forest range. The dry region consists of mixed forest is extensive and is interspersed between the moist and intermediate belt but more generally confined to the western half and southern parts of the district. Here are found trees of the mixed variety viz. Dhawra (Anogeissus latifolia), Bhirra (Chloroxylon swietenia), Rhoni (Soymida febrifuga) and others like Char, Tendu, Aonia, Aonla, Harra, Haria and so no.

In the rocky regions, the trees are generally stunted and deformed.the common trees in the rocky region are salai, Hangu, Khair, Harra, Palas, Sesam and others. In the northern portions of the district. the forest trees are Teak (Tectona grandis), Sal (Shoraaro-busta), Sirsa (Dalbergia latifolia), Bijasal (Ptetocarpus marsupium), Kusum (Schleichera trijuga), Palas (Butea frondosa), Mahua (Bassia latifolia) Tendu (Diospyos melanoxylon), Harra (Terminalia chebula) Aonla (Phyllanthus emblica) Saja (Terminalla tomentosa), Kauha (T. arjuna), Salai (Boswellia serrata), Char (Buchanania latifolia) and others.

In the region around village settlement are found the common trees which need no mention here. Palms fill an important place in the domestic economy of the people. The Palmyra palm (Borassua flabellifer), locally known as tar, grows gregariously in the south-west. From this people extract tari. The next most important is Sulphy (Caryota urens). Unlike the palmyra palm, Sulphi is not a gregarious species and grows in the shady valleys of hills of depressions of undulating plains. It thrives best in the central regions of the district. The sulphi yields a sap, known by the same name and provides a delicious juice. Other palm trees are the wild date palms (Phoenix Sylvestris) and P. acaulis, which are locally named as chhind and the buta chhind (P. farinifera). From the stem of this buta chhind is obtained a grub which is a delicacy for the tribes.

The district is famous for its rich wildlife as it has very thick cover of forest. Tigers and Panthers are found throughout the district in the forest. Tigers and Panthers have a notoriety for turning man-eaters, evidently because of the scarcity of the trees, natural food in the forest and absence of cattle. Nearest airport is at Raipur and railway station is at Dantewada. By road, Bijapur is linked with Dantewada, Raipur and Vishakhapatnam. It’s headquarter is situated at Bijapur which is approximately 90 KMs south from the District Dantewada. River Indrawati the main geographical feature of the district, flows across the southern limit of it with a tortuous course

At a Glance :

General information, Bijapur District – According to Census            2011 and District Statistical Handbook 2013-14
District Formation Date 01-05-2007
Location – Latitude
Location – Longitude
MP Constituency 10 Bastar(ST)
MLA Constituency 89 Bijapur(ST)
Total Area 6562.48 Sq. Km
Total No. of Villages 699 Villages
Inhabited Villages 575 Villages
Uninhabited Villages 123 Villages
Total Population 2,55,230
Male 1,28,663
Female 1,26,567
Sex Ratio 984
Population Density 39/Sq. Km
Decadal Population Growth Rate 8.76 %
Literacy Rate 40.90 %
Male Literacy 50.52 %
Female Literacy 31.10 %
District Hospital 1 (Bijapur)
Community Health Centers 5(Bijapur(Gangaloor),Bhairamgarh,Bhopalpatnam,Usoor,Nelasnar )
Primary Health Centers 10
Sub Health Centers 87
Ayurvedic Hospitals 25
Police District 1
Police Subdivision 05
Sub Jail 1
General information, Bijapur District – According to District                                   Statistical Handbook 2013-14
Forest Divison 01 (Bijapur)
College 03(Bijapur, Bhairamgarh, Bhopalpatnam)
Polytechnic College 01 (Bijapur)
I.T.I 02 (Bijapur, Bhairamgarh)
Higher Secondary School 27
High School 14
Middle School 178
Primary Schools 741
Pre Matric Hostel 40
Post Matric Hostel 09
Ashram School 137
Kasturba Gandhi Balika Awasiya Vidhyalaya 05-(Bijapur-2, Bhairamgarh-1, Bhopalpatnam-1, Usoor-1)
Pota Cabin 30
No of Electricity Villages 451
Integrated Tribal Development Project 01
Annual Rainfall(Average) 1,407.7 mm

Tourist Places :

Madhusurva Temple is most important place for arwal

Latest Govt Job & Exam Updates:

View Full List ...

© Copyright Entrance India - Engineering and Medical Entrance Exams in India | Website Maintained by Firewall Firm - IT Monteur