Shri Hukmdev Narayan Yadav

Latest Govt Job & Exam Updates:

View Full List ...

Shri Hukmdev Narayan Yadav

Constituency   :Madhubani (Bihar )
Party Name     :Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP)
Email Address :hukum[AT]sansad[DOT]nic[DOT]in
Father’s NameLate Shri Rajgir Yadav
Mother’s NameLate Smt. Champa Devi
Date of Birth17 Nov 1939
Place of BirthBijuli, Distt. Darbhanga (Bihar)
Marital StatusMarried
Spouse’s NameSmt. Sudesh Yadav
No. of Sons2
No.of Daughters1
Graduate (Political Science and Economics)
Educated at Chandradhari Mahavidyalaya, Darbhanga, Bihar University, Muzaffarpur
Political and Social Worker,Animal husbandry,Horticulturist
Permanent Address
Vill. & P.O. Bijuli,
Distt. Darbhanga, Bihar-847115
Tel : (06272) 245094, 09013180264, 09431220044 (M)
Present Address
4, Dr. B.D. Marg,
New Delhi – 110 001
Tel : (011) 23753885, 9013180264, 9810031003 (M)
Positions Held
1960-68Gram Pradhan, Bijuli Panchayat (two terms)
1965-67President, Prakhand Panchayat Samiti, Darbhanga
1967-74Member, Bihar Legislative Assembly (Three terms)
Chief Whip, Sanyukt Socialist Party (SANSOPA), Bihar Legislative Assembly
Member, Public Accounts Committee, Rules Committee and Committee on Petitions
1971President, Zila Parishad (District Board)
1972President, Sanyukt Socialist Party (SANSOPA), Darbhanga
1974-77General Secretary, Bhartiya Lok Dal, Bihar
1977-79Elected to 6th Lok Sabha
Secretary, Parliamentary Committee, Bihar
General Secretary, Janata Party, Bihar
1980Elected to Rajya Sabha
1980-86Chief Whip, Lok Dal, Rajya Sabha
President, Election Committee, Lok Dal, Bihar
1982-84Deputy Leader, Rajya Sabha
1983National General Secretary, Janata Party
1983-84Member, Committee on the Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes
1984-86Deputy Leader, Lok Dal, Rajya Sabha
1985-86Member, Committee on Official Language
1985-89President, Janata Party, Bihar
1989Re-elected to 9th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
1989-90Member, Business Advisory Committee
1990Member, Committee on Public Undertakings, Consultative Committee & Ministry of Finance
Deputy leader, Janata Dal, Lok Sabha
1990-91Union Cabinet Minister, Textiles and Food Processing Industries
1999Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
13 Oct. 1999-26 May 2000Union Minister of State, Agriculture
27 May 2000- 6 Nov. 2000Union Minister of State, Surface Transport
7 Nov. 2000- 1 Nov. 2001Union Minister of State, Shipping
2 Nov. 2001Union Minister of State, Agriculture
2009Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha (4th term)
31 Aug. 2009Member, Standing Committee on Agriculture
23 Sep. 2009Member, Committee on Government Assurances
Member,Committee on Official Language
Member, Consultative Committe, Urban Development
3 May 2013Member, Committee on Welfare of Other Backward Classes (OBCs)
May, 2014Re-elected to 16th Lok Sabha (5th term)
9 June 2014 onwardsMember, Panel of Chairpersons, Lok Sabha
1 Sep. 2014 onwardsChairperson, Standing Committee on Agriculture
Convenor, Third Sub-Committee of the Parliamentary Committee on Official Language
Member, Advisory Committee, Ministry of Rural Development
29 Jan. 2015 onwardsMember, General Purposes Committee
Books Published
`Gaon Ki Kahani – 1980`, Articles published in various Newspapers like Jansatta, Navbharat Times and Aryavrat Dainik on contemporary issues; Sansad Mein Gaon – Garib Kisan Ki Baat
Social And Cultural Activities
Inclination towards religious and spiritual activities; constructed several temples and public buildings
Special Interests
Travelling, reading, religious discourses and social issues
Favourite Pastime and Recreation
Bhajan-kirtan, Exercises, Yoga, Pranayam
Sports and Clubs
Rural Sports – Kabaddi, Chikka and Gulli-danda
Countries Visited
Belgium, China, Denmark, France, Germany, Netherlands, Nepal, Sweden, Switzerland
Other Information
His father was a freedom fighter. He was Minister of two Departments during the tenure of Shri Chandershekhar’s Government in 1990-91; was holding the portfolio of State Minister of four Departments during the Government of Shri Vajpayee Ji in 1999-2004; State President of Janata Party from 1985-1989; President of State Parliamentary Committee of Lok Dal;
Secretary, Pindaruchh High School; Founder and Secretary, Lohia Charan Singh College, Darbhanga, Bihar; Attended R.S.S Sakha from 1950-1960 regularly; Joined Bharatiya Janata Party, 1993; Pindaruchh, President, Rashtriya Kisan Morcha, BJP, (two terms); Vice President, Bhartiya Janata Party, Bihar
Resigned on 7th April, 1974 as a Member of the Bihar Legislative Assembly and actively participated in Jai Prakash Movement. Imprisoned for 20 months under M.I.S.A.

Click here to see Bio Data at


The information given herewith about any person is taken from, to the best of our knowledge, true and accurate at the time of publication and is solely for informational and educational purposes. A link to the above mentioned Government Website Page of the particular Member is given herewith for verification. Changing circumstances or alteration of information may not change automatically in our website at any point of time. Any person desirous to change particular information about their data may contact us via email ([email protected]). The Website or its parent company accepts no liability for any loss or damage howsoever arising as a result of use or reliance on these Web pages or on the information thereon or in respect of information accessed via any links from the Web pages.