Bankura District of West Bengal at a Glance

Lok Sabha Constituencies in Bankura district, West Bengal (MP Constituencies) Bangaon
MLA Assembly Constituencies in Bankura district, West Bengal Bankura

About Bankura District :

Bankura is located in the western part of the State of West Bengal. It is a part of Bardhaman Division of the State and included in the area known as “Rarh” in Bengal. The Bankura district is surrounded by the districts of Midnapore and Hooghly in the East, Purulia in the West, Burdwan in the North and again Purulia and Midnapore in the South. It is somewhat triangular in shape and lies within 23038’ to 22038’ North latitude and 86036’ to 87046’ East longitude. The adjacent districts are Bardhaman in the north, Purulia in th west and Paschim Medinapure in the south.The district is divided into 3 Subdivisions and 22 Blocks.The river Dwarekeswar and Kangsabati are major rivers of the district.Rice is the main crop of the district.Though the district is prone to drought, it can raise surplus food production in years of good rainfall. Besides rice, the major crops are Potato, wheat, Vegetables, Mustard, Summer Til etc. Like rice, the district is also surplus in Potato & Vegetable production.The palce of tourist interests in the districts are Madan Mohan temple, Shyam Roy temple, Jairambati temple dedicated to Sarada Devi, Mukutmonipur, Kumari Dam, Biharinath and Susunia Hill station.

District at a Glance :

  • District – 
  • Headquarters – 
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total – 
  • Rural – 
  • Urban – 
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population – 
  • Rural – 
  • Urban – 
  • Male – 
  • Female – 
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males) – 
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km) – 
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Tourist Places :


Latest Govt Job & Exam Updates:

View Full List ...