North Garo Hills District of Meghalaya at a Glance

Lok Sabha Constituencies in North Garo Hills district, Meghalaya (MP Constituencies) Tura
MLA Assembly Constituencies in North Garo Hills district, Meghalaya Kharkutta

North Garo Hills

Particulars Description

Area – 1,113

Population – 118325

District Head Quarters – Resubelpara

Language – Garo

History And Geography

Resubelpara Administrative Unit was upgraded to a full·fledged Civil Sub-Division with effect from 30th April 1982 under Government Notification No HPL 539/81/11 dated 22nd April 1982.

And whereas for public convenience and better administration the Governor of Meghalaya considers it necessary to upgrade the said Resubelpara Civil Sub-Division of East Garo Hills District into a full·fledged District.

And whereas the new District will comprise all the villages of the two Community & Rural Development Blocks viz. Kharkutta Community & Rural Development Block and Resubelpara Community & Rural Development Block Including 57 (Fifty seven) villages under Raja Apal Gram Sevak Circle, Ram Gram Sevak Circle, Mendal Gram Sevak Circle Doba Gram Sevak Circle and Gabil Gram Sevak Circle of Songsak Community & Rural Development as listed in the Schedule-I  to the Notification with the following boundaries:–

North                          –           Assam
South                          –           East Garo Hills District
East                            –           West Khasi Hills District
West                           –           West Garo Hills District

Now therefore the Governor of Meghalaya is pleased to order that the Resubelpara Civil Sub-Division be upgraded into a District to be named as “North Garo Hills District” with the headquarter at Resubelpara.

Administrative Units

The district comprise of two Community & Rural development Blocks namely,
Resubelpara C&RD Block
Kharkutta C&RD Block

Latest Govt Job & Exam Updates:

View Full List ...